Kids' Page
Educators' Page
Enthusiasts' Page
Media Page
Old Photo Archive
About the Commission U.S. Centennial of Flight Commission home page

Commission Roles and Responsiblities

Federal Legislation

U.S. Centennial of Flight Commissioners

First Flight Centennial Federal Advisory Board Members

National Plan

Commission Meeting Minutes

Advisory Board Meeting Minutes

Federal Legislation
Click the left navigation to see Featured selections.
Wright Flyer
Section 4. Membership.

  1. Number and Appointment.--The Commission shall be composed of 6 members, as follows:
    1. The Director of the National Air and Space Museum of the Smithsonian Institution.
    2. The Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
    3. The president of the First Flight Centennial Foundation of North Carolina, to represent the interests of the Foundation.
    4. The chairman of the 2003 Committee of Ohio, to represent the interests of the 2003 Committee.
    5. As chosen by the Commission, the president or head of a United States aeronautical society, foundation, or organization of national stature or prominence who will be a person form a State other than Ohio or North Carolina and shall represent the interests of such aeronautical entities.
    6. The Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration.
  2. Alternates.--Each member described under subsection (a) may designate an alternated who may act in lieu of the member to the extent authorized by the member, including attending meetings and voting.
  3. Vacancies.--Any vacancy in the Commission shall be filled in the same manner in which the original designation was made.
  4. Compensation.--
    1. Prohibition of pay.--Except as provided in paragraph (2), members of the Commission shall serve without pay or compensation.
    2. Travel expenses.--The Commission may adopt a policy, only by unanimous note, for members of the Commission and related advisory panels to receive travel expenses, including per diem in lieu of subsistence. The policy my not exceed the levels established under sections 5702 and 5703 of title 5, United States Code. Members who are Federal employees shall not receive travel expenses if otherwise reimbursed by the Federal Government.
  5. Quorum--Three members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum.
  6. Chairperson.--The Commission shall select a Chairperson of the Commission from the members designated under subsection (a) (1), (2), or (5). The Chairperson may not vote on matters before the commission except in the case of a tie vote. The Chairperson may be removed by a vote of a majority of the Commission's members.

Contact us
Born of Dreams, Inspired by Freedom wright flyer